Publication in Dalton Transactions

Two isostructural series of dinuclear compounds with general formula [Ln2(3m-L4)2(L2)2(MeOH)2]·6MeOH and [Ln2(3m-L4)2(L2)2(DMF)2], where DMF = N,N-dimethylformamide, H23m-L4 = (2-[(E)-(3-metoxysalicylidene)amino]phenol), a HL2 = 1,3-diphenyl-1,3-diketopropane, Ln = GdIII, TbIII, DyIII), were prepared and characterized. Their magnetic properties were studied experimentally (magnetometry) and theoretically (ab initio calculations). It was revealed that the DyIII compounds behave as zero field single-molecule magnets.